NARS “Impassioned”

When I first saw the description of this on the NARS website — a “rich orchid”, I knew I would like this. It’s the exact kind of dusty, minimalist rose shade I often gravitate towards. I also saw this on the models at the Rodarte SS16 show, and loved the natural, romantic-yet-modern vibe it had.

NARS Thakoon SS16 Beauty Look 2

I picked this up for £23 at Selfridges, after trying it on in-store. Impassioned is a matte blush, with neutral, greyish undertones, released as part of the Spring 2016 colour collection “Nouvelle Vogue”, and has been added to the permanent collection. I feel that muted, grey-undertone shades like Impassioned work best with neutral soft summer colouring.

image1

Here is Impassioned swatched. It’s not very pigmented, and I had to swatch quite heavily to get it to show up on my arm.

image8

Impassioned worn on cheeks

Overall, I really like this blush as it’s subtle and wearable. It’s got decent staying power and the shade is modern and minimal, great for daily wear all year round. I recommend this to anyone with a more muted complexion, however I think it’d be hard to get this to show up on darker skin tones.

Leave a Reply

